Essential Eating

If there’s on thing I don’t mind spending oodles of money on, it’s food. I think it’s because I was brought up thinking “food is a neccessity.” Now that I think about it logically, it doesn’t make that much sense. I mean, I could buy a shirt that would serve me for a good amount of time or a nice meal/extravagant dessert which would be a momentary fill to the stomach. Regardless, I’d still go with food. All the way, hands down.

That being said… I have NO problem indulging on over-priced baked goods. Muffins, scones, croissants, danish, cinnamon rolls, and let’s not forget… cupcakes. While visiting San Francisco in late May, I stumbled across Kara’s Cupcakes at the Fisherman’s Wharf, right by Ghiradelli Square. At 3.50/cupcake, it could be considered pretty steep, but worth it! We chose a variety of flavors: The Java, Roasted Banana (with the pink cutout), and Lemon (with the blue cutout).

karas_cupcakes

Of the three, I liked the Lemon one the best; light, with a bright flavor and matching color. I have tried so hard to make a good lemon cupcake from scratch and can never achieve enough “lemony” flavor, so I really appreciated this cupcake.

Next was the Roasted Banana. Very moist, and unlike regular banana-flavored baked goods, you could really taste that added depth that came from roasting the bananas before baking. Plus the rich cream cheese frosting didn’t hurt either.

I wasn’t amazed by the Java (chocolate cake with expresso buttercream), overall it was my least favorite. The buttercream frosting lacked enough flavor to really scream “java!” and the chocolate cake was a bit dry for my taste.

Overall I wasn’t blown away by the textures- but the flavors made up for it. The cakes were slightly on the dry side (and this is in comparison to another boutique cake shop, called Sprinkles). The pink decor and the simple yet cute logo sold me, but what can I say, I’m a sucker for cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

