A Blast from the Past

It surprises me to see that I’ve gotten some traffic, even though I haven’t updated in almost two months. Warms my heart 🙂 even if they are accidental clicks of the mouse!

Anywho – I was going through some old photos and it appears that even pre-cake obsession, I still enjoyed baking and took photos of cakes/foods. I thought I’d bring ’em back.

My dear friend Jackie is an amazing baker and always bakes for everything (fundraisers, birthdays, for fun, you name it) and has a heart of gold. So to show her that we loved her and her baked goods, we held “Iron Chef” or rather “Iron Baker- Cake Off- Challenge” in honor of her birthday. I was on team “peach-ice-cream-cake”… and we ended up with this massive, 6 inch tall, dense ice cream cake that had melting frosting on it.

birthday_cake

Note the strategically placed pineapple rings and peach slices. We decided to add a little pizazz with a flaming shot in the middle. It was definitely a different cake! The photo also shows shots of the other cakes: I think a strawberry shortcake, a sponge cake, and maybe something that resembles a scone. I don’t remember, but I liked this photo. And it’s true, cakes can be baked in dorm kitchens!… with a lot of effort.

Exhibit 2 is a cow cake for my favorite cow-lover, Amy. This was a pure carve and frost cake, also made in a dorm kitchen. Love it, I had some good times that year, and I’m missing it more and more each day.

PB180875

I’ll stop strolling down memory lane now 🙂

One thought on “A Blast from the Past

Leave a Reply

