Wedding Bells are ringing…

It’s my 20th post! Coincidentally I have a bunch of wedding cake (mostly completed except for the third tier) photos to show… a culmination of “hard work” thus far… Hope you enjoy!

This Thanksgiving was really relaxing. I didn’t do much but eat, sleep, and do little craftsy things that I always have going on when I’m at home. After messing around with the snowman topper idea (posted earlier), some feedback and suggestions, I tried my hand at a cake topper that isn’t edible. (I found that molding people out of fondant and gum paste isn’t as easy as they make it look on Ace of Cakes, nor is it as simple to work with as clay.) I found some inspiration at a cute etsy store called “The Small Object…” and sort of worked from there. (She charges 135 for these wedding toppers, min. So I tried to re-create and personalize it.) Here we go:

Chris and Karen and Yu Teow, for a winter wedding scene:

Some close ups:

We had some confusion- the yarn is her arm, not hair extensions 🙂

Hello small puppy!

The base- with the navy ribbon, as on the cake.

Ok. So coming back, I wanted to see the entire thing put together (two tiers at least… I haven’t yet gotten around to tackling the 14 in. cake layer…::Shudder::) SoOoO… Here are some photos. I did the 10 in. fake tier in marshmallow fondant and experimented with royal icing. Meringue powder is a miracle invention. Who knew? Anyways… There are two options- the first is little piped dots (which I personally like better, they remind me of snow falling in a whimsical way, but don’t let me bias you) and the second is little piped star-type things. I was going for snowflake but I like simpler better. What do you think? Let me know!

Take 1:

Some details:

From above:

Take 2: Snowflakes

Phew… Who likes cake? Lots of recipes to try, coming up! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Wedding Bells are ringing…

  1. i love cake!

    i like the first one.. i like the simplicity too 🙂 good job though! they look awesome… the ppl are cool too!

  2. Wowie. I love the topper. If you are recycling it, you can use it at my wedding if and when I have one. You’ll just need to erase some of the grooms hair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

