Bite sized Rainbows

So much for at least a post a month. Hey everyone, Happy 2011. I’m only 3 months and 10 days late.

The important thing is we’re back in the game, right? 🙂 Anyways, I always have grand plans to bake around holidays (love themes!) if there are no birthdays or other events, but for some reason have just been so preoccupied lately. That, and the mundane baking wasn’t “blog-worthy” in my opinion. You know, the chocolate chip cookies, plain vanilla cupcakes with sprinkles, etc. I finally baked something (not that original) but at least it’s some colorful eye-candy to start out this year’s set of posts with. (Baby steps, baby steps.)

Colorful in a very literal sense, rainbow cupcakes! I meant to do something for St. Patty’s day (like a green velvet with some sort of weird leprechaun-esque theme) but gave up for simplicity’s sake. Plus this is loosely related. I mean, where are pots of gold found? At the end of rainbows, duh. 🙂

I just needed some whimsy to brighten up the day. Photo time!

1. It seems like a lot of work (it’s just really a lot of bowls)….and a good amount of food coloring!

2. Bri came to help me, and we started doing a reverse ROYGBIV, then dropped the “IV” because 7 bowls is just so much more ridiculous than 5. So… Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange, Red. 🙂

3. Cheery dots of yellow:

4. Baked a rainbow!

5. Top off with a little dollop of white buttercream, like a fluffy cloud 🙂

6.  Cut open to reveal the psychedelic colors:

So I brought these into work, thinking, “hey, it’ll be a fun pick-me-up.” Unfortunately, I work with a TON of guys (literally the only full-time female in the department)…. anddddd well… you know what they say about men. 1 in 13 of them exhibits some sort of color blind tendency, versus 1 in 300 for women. Let’s just say, I don’t think they cared as much as long as it tasted good.

Anyone find a pot of gold? 🙂

One thought on “Bite sized Rainbows

  1. I loved these cupcakes, so moist and delicious! Who wouldn’t love super fun colorful treats on an awesome holiday! 🙂 Thanks for bringing them in to share.

Leave a Reply

