Sugar cookies, baseball, and summer holidays

Summertime in the Phoenician desert means everything melts. In this sense, cake making takes a summer holiday and I end up baking other sweets that aren’t as sensitive to the heat (sorry, buttercream-dressed-cakes; see ya later, modeling chocolate decorations, ’til October, fluffy ganache fillings). Sugar cookies are a great alternative- they don’t take that long to bake (hence I’m not running my oven for hours), they hold up well in the heat, and the royal icing actually dries faster in the dry, hot summer air.

Along with the summer lull in caking, I notice a simultaneous lull in sports, thanks to my resident sports expert. Baseball is the only one of the “four major sports” that runs through the summer.

So, why not mix the two in a baking project?

I have a sizable group of friends who pledge sports loyalty to Detroit and their teams, having moved from Michigan. One of them, Melissa, was having a birthday and I wanted to give her something, so I had Matt help me make some Detroit Tigers jersey cookies:

IMG_3673

Miguel Cabrera, anyone?

IMG_3675The Tiger’s “D” & my man Chet Lemon.

IMG_3676

I had to make my other non-sports cookies, of course. My sister gave me 101 cookie cutters, so I had to put them to good use. An airplane, a fish, a mason jar with a flower, a doughnut, and some dinos 🙂

IMG_3682

I had to make a nerdy dino, of course. When the opportunity presents itself…

IMG_3686Individually wrapped in cellophane baggies- always a nice touch and convenient for transport!

IMG_3696I might add that I use the sugar cookie recipe from Sweet Sugar Belle and also learned from her royal icing tips. She’s an expert at this stuff and a sugar cookie genius! I love it, definitely stop by and check out her site.

Leave a Reply

